Members of Brazilian Publishers are among the winners of the FBN Book Prize 2020 


The Brazilian National Library Foundation has recently announced the winners of its Book Prize, which was created 25 years ago. Among the winning books, 10 were published by members of Brazilian Publishers — an industry project fostering the exports of Brazilian editorial content by means of a partnership between the Brazilian Book Chamber (CBL) and the Brazilian Trade and Investment Promotion Agency (Apex-Brasil).

Three books were first place in their respective categories: “Agudezas seiscentistas e outros ensaios” (The sharpness of the 17th Century and other essays), by João Adolfo Hansen, Cilaine Alves Cunha and Mayra Laudanna, published by Editora da Universidade de São Paulo (Edusp), was the winner in the Literary Essay category (Mário de Andrade Prize). Writer Jarid Arraes won in the Short Story category (Clarice Lispector Prize) for “Redemoinho em dia quente” (Swirl in a hot day), published by Alfaguara. In the Translation category (Paulo Rónai Prize), the winning title was the translation of Baudelaire’s “As flores do mal” (The flowers of evil) by Júlio Castañon Guimarães, published by Penguin Classics/Companhia das Letras. 

Other seven titles were highlighted during the event, holding the second and third positions in many categories: “A noite dos olhos” (The night of the eyes), by Heloísa Seixas, published by Companhia das Letras, in the Short Story category; “Ganhadores: a greve negra de 1857 na Bahia” (Winners: the black workers’ strike in 1857 in Bahia), by João José Reis; and “O reino: a história de Edir Macedo e uma radiografia da Igreja Universal” (The kingdom: the story of Edir Macedo and the Igreja Universal), by Gilberto Nascimento, both published by Companhia das Letras, in the Social Essay (Sérgio Buarque de Holanda Prize).

In the Youth Literature category, “O Haiti de Jean” (Jean’s Haiti), by Cassiana Pizaia, Rima Awada Zahra and Rosi Vilas Boas; and “Três dias e mais alguns” (Three days or so), by Caio Riter, both published by Editora do Brasil, were highlighted. In the Novel category, “O que ela sussurra?” (What is she whispering?), by Noemi Jaffe, published by Companhia das Letras; and in the Translation category, “Obras completas, volume 4: A interpretação dos sonhos (1900)” (The complete works of Sigmund Freud, volume 4: The interpretation of dreams (1900)), translated by Paulo César de Souza and published by Companhia das Letras, were acclaimed. 

About the prize

Divided into eight categories, the prize has been conferred every year since 1994 to Brazilian writers, translators and graphic designers, as a recognition of the intellectual and aesthetic quality of Brazilian editorial contents in the following categories: poetry, novel, short story, social essay, literary essay, translation, graphic design, children’s and youth literature. The winners in each category are given a BRL 30-thousand cash prize. Click here to see the full list, including the second and third places in each category.

About Brazilian Publishers

Created in 2008, Brazilian Publishers is a sector project that encourages the export of content produced by Brazilian publishing houses. It is a result of a partnership between the Brazilian Book Chamber – CBL and Apex-Brasil (Brazilian Trade and Investment Promotion Agency). This initiative aims to promote the Brazilian publishing industry in the global market, contributing to the professionalization of the nation’s publishing houses.