Winners of the 3rd edition of the Aberst Literature Award are announced


The Brazilian Association of Crime, Suspense and Horror Writers (Aberst) recently disclosed the winners of the 3rd Aberst Literature Award. The purpose of the prize is to recognize the best crime, suspense and horror novels written by Brazilian authors.

Several books were awarded the prize in seven categories: “Numezu” (Numezu), by Jorge A. Moreira, was the winner in the Horror novel category. The winner in the Crime short story category was “O assassinato de Cláudio Manuel da Costa” (The murder of Cláudio Manuel da Costa), written by Jean Pierre Chauvin, while in the Suspense novel category the winner was “A garota da casa da colina” (The girl from the hill house), written by Larissa Brasil.

Iza Artagão was acclaimed as New Author, and Vera Carvalho Assumpção was honored with a prize for her Set of Works. To watch the ceremony, click here. And to see the full list of winners, click here. 

Created in 2018, the prize became important in the publishing market, since it was well received by the writers who work with such genres. In the 2020 edition, new stories in Portuguese that were published from July 1st, 2019 to June 30th, 2020 could compete for the prize.